I've been poking around the referrer logs for Firefox and the mozilla.org website and there are some interesting sites linking to us. (Warning: adult content behind some of the links below.)
For a glimpse into who is linking to our Firefox pages, here are the top 10 referrers from yesterday (minus search engines and referrers from other mozilla.org pages):
http://firefox.stw.uni-duisburg.de
http://maddox.xmission.com
http://bugmenot.com
http://help.blogger.com
http://techrepublic.com.com/5100-6270_11-5299400.html?tag=e064
http://sp2torrent.com
http://linktoy.com/adult/sex.html
http://headlines.yahoo.co.jp/hl?a=20040811-00000008-wir-sc
http://nidelven-it.no/articles/introduction_to_firefox
http://framasoft.net/article1365.html
and here are this month's top ten non-mozilla, non-search referrers to mozilla.org:
http://rumandmonkey.com/widgets/toys/namegen/969
http://asianthumbs.org/main.htm
http://collegesucks.com
http://gta-action.com/dlm/categ.php
http://forums.shareconnector.com/
http://milkandcookies.com/
http://moviemeter.nl/
http://neowin.net/forum/index.php
http://nancies.org/
http://editeurjavascript.com/
cool, http://maddox.xmission.comis at #2, I love to read his stuff, he gets a LOT of traffic.
Posted by: berkut on August 12, 2004 10:04 PMat least one dmb fan site knows whats up as far as web browser technology goes..
Posted by: GURT on August 12, 2004 10:45 PMAre you sure those Adult site are linking to mozilla, aren't you just being spammed with false referer. I know my webpage stats are being spammed with false referer.
Posted by: Ludovic Hirlimann on August 12, 2004 10:51 PMhaha perfect, and the asian site has even a firefox button! :D
Posted by: Michael on August 13, 2004 12:01 AMYou're indirectly helping these referer-spammers improve their google pagerank! Even my weblog that lacks content has spots 6-20 occupied by these adult websites.. just because it has a pagerank of 5, its one of their targets.
Cool, my website is the top referrer for Firefox :)
Posted by: Abdulkadir Topal on August 13, 2004 01:30 AMIn response to some of the other comments: It's hard to know if there is referrer spamming going on, but the adult sites shown do actually have Firefox buttons, and adult sites are of course very popular.
Posted by: michaell on August 13, 2004 03:58 AMJust to follow up on Micahell's comment, yes, these are all legit referrers. They have buttons or links on their primary pages that point to us. This is not referrer spam at all, this is Firefox and Mozilla advocacy and some of it happens to come from porn sites who like us :-)
--Asa
Posted by: Asa Dotzler on August 13, 2004 07:24 AMI'm curious if this represents actual clickthroughs, or if you've excluded remote in-lining. On nancies.org, we're using the Firefox logo by calling it from your server (as per Mozilla instructions, presumably helping y'all track where your promotional images are at and how much exposure they're getting), and I wonder if we're listed at #9 because of a lot of people loading the front page of our site, or because a lot of people are clicking through. The former is no news to me, but the latter would be fantastic.
Any idea?
Posted by: Waldo Jaquith on August 13, 2004 08:13 AMbug 254478 was recently filed and fixed. Before this there were some cassino referrers in there too. I'm pretty sure the asian thumbs gallery is legit, the cassino ones looked to be very bogus.
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=254478
(so far, mozilla.org hasn't dropped from Google's SERPs)
Here's a fun google query:
http://www.google.com/search?q=allintitle%3A%22usage+statistics+for%22
lxr.kde.org got especially hard-hit:
http://stats.nadmm.com/kdelxr/
Posted by: Eric Hodel on August 13, 2004 09:09 AMErr, make that mozilla.org's web statistics
Posted by: Eric Hodel on August 13, 2004 09:11 AMSome of the porn sites abuse the name Firefox.
The links to the galleries of collegesucks.com link to www.xxxtoolbar.com, which tries to install a trojan horse via xpi. Wasn't there a change in Geckos behavior with xpi-files in rv1.7 because of sites like this?
This is not advocacy, this is a severe trademark abuse.
>severe trademark abuse
would you care to elaborate? even if they install bad things, i don't understand how anyone could think of trademark abuse in this case...
They recommand firefox, but if you have it, they try to install a trojan horse via xpi - which means, that an avarage user would associate firefox with malware or spyware.
For me, this abuses the trademark Firefox, because users could - and many of them would - associate it with malware and spyware.
Many people think, Firefox is secure by default or secure because writing malware for it isn't efficient, because of it's low market share - but sites like xxxtoolbar.com show, that's simply not true.
Posted by: w_j_s on August 23, 2004 09:36 AMwjs, I don't see the links to xxxtoolbar , "Galleries" takes me to a listing and the first few sites on that listing take me to porn and not xxx toolbar, and when I visit xxxtoolbar manually, I don't get any xpi dialog at all. I get prompted to download some executable, but it's not an XPInstall dialog. Can you provide links?
--Asa
Posted by: Asa Dotzler on August 23, 2004 09:54 AMSorry, you're right, the link which leads to xxxtoolbar is an ad, an image which looks like a text, just the second link after the link to Mozilla.Org an the last link in the site, when you list them by the "linky" option "download all links":
http://cgi.sexswap.com/adswap.dll?showad?accountnumber=8931&PageNumber=0
When you click this advertising link, it redirects to www.xxxtoolbar.com
where pop-ups are opened (with pop-ups disabled you'll get a blank page, else it opens many pop-ups and tries to install a "free video player"
The text in this image is
>
Gallery1 Gallery2 Gallery3 Gallery4
Because many porn sites provide first a list of links to other sites, advertising an so on, and their own content at the bottom of the page, it is not unlikely, that many users will click on this link, expecting some pictures.
But click at that an you will be redirected to www.xxxtoolbar.com
When you go to the home page of xxxtoolbar.com with Gecko 1.6 or lower, it starts an unrequested installation process of the xpi-File
http://www.xxxtoolbar.com/ist/softwares/v4.0/ist_netscape.xpi
maybe a trojan horse or just a dialer.
when you use a non-Windows-system, (browser spoofing doesn't work) first there is a javascript pop-up which tells you "sorry, your browser is not win32 compatible.
xxxtoolbar.com was used as an example
http://www.heise.de/bilder/48349/0/0
http://www.heise.de/bilder/48349/1/0
in an editorial at heise.de "Mozilla - das Ende der Idylle" -
http://www.heise.de/security/artikel/48349
which described the xpi-concept as a security hole in Mozilla 1.6 - one day after the release of Mozilla 1.7 which fixed most security problems in the xpi file installation process.
http://www.heise.de/security/dienste/browsercheck/demos/nc/xpi-demo.shtml
Ask Ben Bucksch or for more details about that.
http://www.heise.de/security/news/foren/go.shtml?read=1&msg_id=5886226&forum_id=58484
my user-agent:
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; de-DE; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040803 Firefox/0.9.3